Life never works out just like we expect

Sometimes I wish I could plan things out, get everything organized, and know which one of ten steps I was on to make the universe a better place. Life never works out just like we expect.

Unexpected Food VIl: Citrus Surprise
Unexpected Food VIl: Citrus Surprise by jcoterhals, on Flickr

You never know when the orange that life gave you is really a lemon hiding a lime.

It’s one of the ways we know we are not alone. If everything followed my expectations, I could be tempted to think I can really control much more than I can. Life isn’t about control.

That isn’t to say we are victims. We do impact the world around us. We do play an important role in the way our lives unfold.

The unfolding, however, is largely affected by things outside of our reach, things that we never would have guessed, and never could have known to put in motion.

Losing a job, falling in love with your best friend, hitting a vulture with your car, becoming a parent…

It is up to us how we react. Let’s enjoy this crazy adventure called life.

William Stonewall Monroe

Leave a comment