2 things friends are for

In goes the piano

  • In goes the piano by Elfike, on Flickr
  • Friendship is underestimated.

    We moved this week. I always feel some of the intensity of friendship when I move. People I love and care about help me accomplish things I cannot do myself. I couldn’t move my piano by myself, and truly, if I could, I wouldn’t want to. There is something about working with a group, people that you know love and care about you to that makes life better. Serving and being served and being served by serving. Love and service is part of the soul, in order to be healthy humans, we need to love, we need to serve, we need to feel needed.

    This whole week, my wife, Alicia, has been incredible, working from dawn to dusk, packing boxes and moving the portable pieces of our home to a new address. Throughout, friends from various connections helped with those parts of moving that Alicia and I couldn’t manage. friends help us when we can’t help ourselves

    There is something about doing little things that rather than being an inconvenience is a grace to both parties. Some boxes were moved by friends that we could totally have moved, and even with moving the piano, some of our friends said they felt as if they weren’t much help. On the flip side, when we made them pizza, we knew that each and every one of those adult men could find some dinner, but thing is,friends do things for us that we are perfectly capable of doing. Such kindnesses build friendships.

    I, for my part, have never felt terribly adequate in cultivating deep and lasting friendships, a few resources are proving invaluable to me as I learn.

    1. Alicia, my wife, is a true and deep friend maker.
    2. Books, most notably and recently Friendship by Hugh Black, free on Kindle, is a great treatise on friends and the value thereof, written around 1892, but still many good thoughts.
    3. Quiet, if we are busy all the time, there is no space for friends.

    William Stonewall Monroe

    One thought on “2 things friends are for

    Leave a Reply

    