Book Review: Bread and Wine, by Shauna Niequist

As a matter of disclaimer, I got a promotional copy of this book to review from booksneeze.com.

Truth be told, I probably would have read it anyway, given my Aunt, see bubblesandmoney.blogspot.com, had said it was a good read.

This book will make you hungry. Not just for food. For friends, conversations, dinners, dates (double meaning intended), traveling, and life. Life to the fullest, with mistakes, celebrations, the sullen days and the joyous days. Bread and Wine is a collection of essays, moments really, often revolving around a meal, but many are simple memories. While none directly lead to the next, her words paint a full picture of her life, which often times contains nuggets of wisdom she is working to follow herself.

The book is honest, funny, and while I may not like to admit it, it made me cry on the bus that brings me home from work. While reading it, I found myself spending a few more thoughtful moments in the grocery aisles, a few more thoughtful moments around the kitchen table, and more than that, slowing down to relax, stretch out and enjoy a bit of life. I believe once my wife works her way through this book, we’ll be cooking through the chapters, laughing about our own adventures and having a dinner party or two.

I’ve just thrown together some turkey burgers for later today, inspired by one of the chapters. Excited to taste them and continue my and my family’s story.

Bread and Wine on Amazon

William Stonewall Monroe

PS. I was vacationing the past two weeks, and will again be gone next week. Regular blogging shall commence upon my return.

PPS. I have a couple of shows coming up, so be on the lookout for more info!

Leave a Reply

