I almost cut my hair

I almost cut my hair, but then I thought better of it, and had my wife do it.

20130524-080152.jpg

The thing about hair is it feels so much like part of who we are. Indeed, it grows out of our head, right above our eyes, the perceived center of our existence. Some feedback I’ve gotten on the summer cut is as follows

Whoa, that’s a big change!

Or

You have a nicely shaped head

Or

What happened to your hair??! Don’t let it happen again.

Or

You look like you could beat somebody up

Opinions are like noses, everybody has got one, but if I chose to define myself by those opinions, I’d be pretty fractured.

you are who you are
One thing I learned by going to my new haircut is that you are who you are. Your outward appearance changes, sure, people perceive you differently, definitely, all of which impacts the way you view yourself. However, in the end, nothing about you really changes. You are still you.

This is easy enough to say, but harder to internalize. I’m not gonna say that every time I look in the mirror I don’t feel a bit like Samuel L. Jackson, Derek Webb, or John Travolta in that one movie I can’t remember (but head shaved with a goatee). Yet shaving my head doesn’t actually make me more capable of cussing out snakes, using synths deftly, or disco dancing.

In music, you must be honest, else it can come out forced and awkward. Even when you play someone else’s song, match the intent, not the sound. Know what you are trying to say with it. In this video, Zoe Keating plays her cover of Beethoven’s 7th Symphony, 2nd mvmt, in the way that only she can.

Leave a Reply

